Service management
This page explains how to manage the lifecycle of your Kubernetes cluster — adding and removing worker nodes, and canceling a cluster when it is no longer needed.
How to add a node
You can add worker nodes to a cluster running Kubernetes 1.27 or later at any time in the Customer Portal. For clusters on an older Kubernetes version, the Add node option is unavailable.
To add a worker node:
- In the left-hand menu, navigate to Managed Kubernetes and select your cluster
- Go to Nodes tab, then click Add node
- Select and configure the dedicated server that will be used as a Kubernetes worker node
- Click Add, then click Buy now
The node will be added to your cluster.
How to remove a node
You can remove worker nodes from a cluster running Kubernetes 1.27 or later at any time in the Customer Portal. For clusters on an older version, the Remove nodes option is unavailable.
Removed nodes are released from the cluster, but the dedicated servers will remain in your account under the Dedicated Servers section.
They continue to be billed as regular dedicated servers until you manually cancel them. To reuse a released server, you only need to reinstall the operating system.
To remove a worker node from a cluster:
- In the left-hand menu, navigate to Managed Kubernetes and select your cluster
- Go to Nodes tab, then tick the checkbox next to the node you want to remove
- Click Remove nodes, then click Continue in the opened window to confirm the action
The node will be removed from your cluster.
How to cancel a cluster
Before canceling a cluster, ensure that all running containers, workloads, persistent volumes, and networking configurations are properly migrated or backed up. Once the cluster is canceled, all associated pods, deployments, services, and storage will be permanently deleted, and this operation is irreversible. The released servers will remain in your account and will be billed as regular dedicated servers until manually canceled.
To proceed with a cluster cancellation, complete the following steps:
- In the left-hand menu, navigate to Kubernetes
- Select your cluster and click Cancel service in the Services section
When the cancellation process is complete, the cluster will be canceled.